Notes and thoughts on international placements

28.02.2017

Age: 23
Stage: Year one student nurse, first trimester
Weight: 5 pounds lighter than the last time I posted, yay!
Employment: Part-time. Working on the nursing floor of a residential care-home
Ya’ll should check out: This really pretty Littmann stethoscope I found on Amazon, I seriously want it quite badly https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00B7SD2D6/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_img?_encoding=UTF8&colid=2UN1J9QZKSIDP&coliid=INVKHAYGHW4QV
Listening to: The pounding in my own head because I’ve got a filthy cold

Hi ya’ll, me again. So we had a lecture today about the potential for international placements in our second year, and I’m still not fully sure how I feel about it. I was always really gutted about the fact I was not able to study abroad as part of my first undergraduate degree, and swore if I got the opportunity to I would go. It would be around October time in 2018. The shorter option includes a 2 week placement which would be observation only.

There’s another option called “Work The World”, which seems to focus on countries that are still developing (I can’t find the politically-correct term to use for this – if you know what it is, please drop me a message), and I’m not overly sure of this. I really want to avoid the whole “white saviour” aspect, BUT I do think it would be really interesting and beneficial to see how a healthcare system works in a different country/continent.

Competition
There is a free place available to undertake a bespoke placement with Work The World. One University of Brighton student is awarded a 2 week scholarship (across nursing AND midwifery). The scholarship doesn’t pay for the flight, but it does pay for transport, food, and accommodation.
Direct any questions to lynsey@worktheworld.co.uk 

International modules in curriculum in year 2:

4 week module (International Nursing elective, with placement)

6 or 12 week module with placement

 

Extended international nursing elective
1. 12 week placement in Europe (supported by Erasmus), adult field in Denmark (Aarhus) or Sweden (Boräs) – estimated cost approximately £1,000
2. 6 week placement to University of Monash, Melbourne, Australia – estimated cost approximately £3,000/£4,000

Things to consider, a.k.a. let’s be realistic right now
Are my grades good enough? Okay, realistically I can pull my weight in regards to grades, so this is the aspect I’ll be worrying about least. 
Can I fund it? This is a BIG concern of mine, right now I’m relying on funding, family support, and a trust fund my grandparents set up for my in order to finance everything. Can I really afford to go swanning off to a different country, where realistically I could just save, knuckle down, and maybe be able to afford the deposit for a flat by the time I qualify?
Do I have the recommendation of my personal tutor? Okay, OKAY, confession time, I haven’t ACTUALLY TECHNICALLY emailed my personal tutor yet. I KNOW I need to, it’s just the last couple of weeks have been kind of hectic, you know? Come on, give me a break. I’ll do it tonight, okay?
Do I think I’d be a good ambassador for the university? Dependent on the country of choice. I know there are a lot of places that are not super-cool with the whole queer/tattoo thing, so I think I would have to tread very carefully for my own safety, but also for the reputation of the establishment. 
Am I competitive enough for the interview selection? In a word? No. I’m not at all competitive. I’m getting better at the whole “selling yourself” thing, but I still really don’t like doing, feels kind of like an ego trip to me. I think I’d have to train myself up in order to come across as well as I’d need to in the interview process.
Can I be away from home for up to 3 months? My only concerns regarding this are my grandmother’s health, and the fact that my little sister will be in her second year of medical school (she’s recently been offered a place – exciting, right?). I endeavour to be there for her as much as I can, and realistically if I went away there’s only so much I can support her.

I think, in summary, there’s a lot I need to think about before I make any decisions. This is probably a really good thing as it’s a weighty concept that needs a lot of thought.  
That being said, the photo I used for this post is a beach in Australia – isn’t it gorgeous?! It’s called Lizard Island, and it’s in Queensland.

Leave a Reply

